The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks
Fisix

Bob Murray's Media Blitz - June '20

I haven't heard the audio yet, so I'm just going off this summary:
https://www.nhl.com/ducks/news/ducks-gm-murray-recaps-season-discusses-nhl-draft-lottery-and-more/c-317093818

I have to say, if Murray is going to award ice time based on performance, heavily, we're going to end up in the Dehydrated Donkey Dungter again.  We'll have Getz out there for 50 minutes each game and none of the kids will have a chance to develop.  You clearly have to reward good play, but a lot of the team just isn't veteran enough to base their TOI on performance, not on a long term basis, not if we want them to actually ramp up.  

The boxing of my opinion is a player like Nick Ritchie.  He was given too much time with the team, frankly.  So, there's a place to reduce TOI, and to remove from the lineup (by trade or demotion, whatever), but not as a night by night reevaluation of a bunch of rooks that we're going to be relying on for the near future. 

I may not be conveying this perfectly.  What BM said sounds like old thinking, that'll produce antiquated results, results we won't be happy with.  I think he needs to figure out a way to positively reinforce good play without having lopsided TsOI for our lines/players, and while continuing productive development of every player we have.  If that means making earlier decisions about whether we want to keep a player around, then so be it.  Better for us, better for them.

If a rook that kicks ass in the AHL isn't making it in the NHL, then there's shared fault, and the burden shifts more on the team staff/admin when that failure to develop hits substantially all the rooks (what I took from BM's comments).

More later.

Aside - if someone has a link to the audio, post it here or DM me if we can't post it.  Thanks!

• Like 1

some interesting quotes:

"We have three picks in the top-36 as of right now."